Broce Wins Section Championship!

University of Toledo Men’s Golf Coach, Jamie Broce, PGA captured his first Northern Ohio Professional Championship this week at Inverness Club. He will lead 7 Section PGA Professionals to compete in the 50th PGA Professional Championship, June 25-28, 2017, at Sunriver Resort in Sunriver, Oregon.

Broce turned in a winning total of 5-under-par 208 to capture the Northern Ohio PGA Professional Champion title. Jaysen Hansen of Solon, Ohio was runner-up, finishing at Even par 213. They are joined by Dennis Miller, Mitch Camp, Casey Schrader, Garrett Korte, Rob Moss. Click Here For Complete Results.

The PGA Professional Championship will mark its fourth visit to Sunriver Resort and first since 2013. The Championship brings together a field of 312 contestants representing the PGA of America’s 41 nationwide Sections.In 2017, the Championship field will compete at Sunriver Resort, home to two of the country’s premier public/resort courses. The Championship will be contested on the Crosswater Club and Meadows Golf Course.Sunriver’s 605-acre resort is positioned between the Big Deschutes and Little Deschutes Rivers. Inspired by the Scottish highlands, Crosswater Club opened for play in 1995 as a heathland-style course offers a perfect blend of strategy and aesthetics. The course features a wide range of fairway lengths and the constant interplay of wetlands, ponds, and rivers.
Designed by Bob Cupp, the par-72 Crosswater Golf Club played to 7,530 yards in the 2013 Championship, which made it the second longest layout in event history. The Meadows Golf Course, a collaborative effort between Fred Federspiel and John Fought, also is a par-71 layout that was played at 6,969 yards in the Championship. The Meadows winds its way along the great meadow and through groves of Ponderosa Pines.

The PGA Professional Championship, carrying a $550,000 total purse this year, is broadcast (all four rounds) by Golf Channel. Following 36 holes of play, the field will be trimmed to the low 90 scorers and ties, and following 54 holes of play, the field will be trimmed to the low 70 scorers and ties.
The low 20 scorers in 2017 will earn berths into the 99th PGA Championship, Aug. 10-13, 2017, at Quail Hollow Club in Charlotte, North Carolina.
In addition to the Walter Hagen Cup, the PGA Professional Championship winner also receives an exemption into the next 10 PGA Professional Championships and exemptions into six PGA TOUR events over a 12-month period.

Established in 1968, the PGA Professional Championship roster of Champions includes the following premier TOUR professionals: Sam Snead, Bob Rosburg, Don Massengale, Ed Dougherty, Larry Gilbert, and Bruce Fleisher.

The PGA Professional Championship is presented by Club Car, Mercedes-Benz USA and OMEGA. Supporting sponsors are Titleist/FootJoy, Nike Golf, TaylorMade Golf Companies, and the PGA TOUR. Golf Channel is the official media partner. The 41 Section Championships and the National Championship offer a combined purse of $1.5 million.