Camp & Seymour Inducted Into Hall of Fame

Congratulations to Mitch Camp, PGA, and Chad Seymour, PGA, on being inducted into the Northern Ohio PGA Hall of Fame at the Section’s Fall Meeting, which took place on Oct. 21, at Westfield Group Country Club.

As a senior at Orrville High School, Mitch Camp was named Ohio High School Overall Champion. At Ohio State University, he earned second team All-American honors, and won the Les Bolstad Award for having the Big 10’s low stroke average.

After playing on the Space Coast Golf Tour for several years, Camp accepted the position of Assistant Golf Professional at Fairlawn Country Club, in Akron. In 1989, he became Director of Golf at Club Walden in Aurora, a position he currently holds.

His decorated career includes two Ohio Open Championships (1985 and 1993), two NOPGA Section Championships (1989 and 1993), the 2009 Ohio Senior Open, and 2012 Toledo Open Senior Championship. In addition, he was named NOPGA Merchandiser of the Year (Private) as well as NOPGA Junior Golf Leader of the Year (four times).

Camp served as a board member from 1994 to 2002, and has been a member of the NOPGA Junior Golf Committee since 1989.

While a Member of the NOPGA, Chad Seymour has served as NOPGA Apprentice Committee Chairman (2001-2005), Secretary (2006-2007), Vice President (2008-2009), President (2010-2011), and is currently Honorary President. He is also currently the NOPGA Junior Golf Committee Chairman and the PGA of America Incoming District 5 Director.

Throughout his career, Seymour has been named NOPGA Golf Professional of the Year (2005 and 2012), NOPGA Junior Golf Leader of the Year (2001 and 2004), NOPGA Bill Strausbaugh Award Winner (2006), and the NOPGA Horton Smith Award Winner (2007).

In addition, between 2001 and 2007, his facility, Westfield Group Country Club, hosted the Westfield Junior PGA National Championship, as well as the Junior Ryder Cup in 2004.

By: Keith Moehring, PR 20/20